can you match JoJo Siwa's freak

at the Four Seasons Orlando

Bonjour,

Current hyper-fixations include Lunch on the new Billie album and these turkey sticks (12 grams of protein! No carbs! If something is gross about them plz tell me.)

Let’s get into it.

ily,

Writer: Natasha (insta)
Editor: Deana

I couldn’t help but wonder, who is allowed to be a freak? A few things converging on the internet at this moment are worth examining.

A new meme format “Match my freak” was born from this song going viral from this video, then it spawned, and took over the timeline. A baby is going to the Four Seasons Orlando and the internet could not handle it. Charli XCX’s hot girl internet army has been deployed. And truly, I can not escape JoJo Siwa in my media diet.

Many of these things came together for me in a video, which made me question whether we are actually living in a simulation. See below:

For those of you who see this and are not tracking, I envy you. Let me explain.

Tyler Cameron from Bachelor fame is in the background of this video, which has nothing to do with anything except that it brings me back to a time when the hottest guy at school was in the room for my choir auditions (it did not go well.) Similarly, JoJo Siwa is drunkenly singing the lyrics to her new song, a key component in her recent rebrand.

For the uninitiated, JoJo is a child YouTube star who is publicly overhauling herself as gay and freaky. To understand the breadth of this rebrand there are over 150M TikToks on the topic alone.

She has been on every podcast and every morning show for weeks and weeks, and the reason she hasn’t fallen off the timeline yet is because in almost every TikTok, cutdown, and clip, the vibe is — we are laughing at you, not with you.

To say the internet is being unkind to JoJo… would be… an understatement. While at the same moment, it’s never been hotter to be weird and edge lord-y à la Charli’s cabal. So who gets to draw the line on the freak level?

Look, I get that she’s cringe. But I cannot help but feel we’ll collectively look back at this time and experience a similar regret to how we treated Britney Spears, with a unique cruelty that we’ll have a tough time stomaching once the fog of the scroll lifts.

Billie Eilish said it best: 'The internet is hungry for the meanest kind of funny, and somebody's gotta feed it.'

If you’re lost on the Charli XCX hot girl internet of it all, catch up below. See you next week.